The last Letter

 

And the lashing heat recedes,

as I smell the oncoming shower.

The winds of change,

I feel them coming.

Try to find a hidden sign,

in the lightening.

As I breathe in the smell of the rain

into every cell in my body,

your worn out memories that were deep within,

finally begin to leave my skin.

 

I feel the cool breeze against my face,

As I wait for the drops to come splashing,

And erase every last trace of you.

 

It pours like it hasn’t in a while.

The land smells like the promise of new love.

As I sit here watching the rain,

hearing the sound it makes,

smiling at the swinging trees

& as I sip some tea,

I finish writing my last letter to you;

the one I will never post.

Leave a Reply

